Once Upon a Fat Girl

Sunday, November 30, 2008


When I get a new client, our first appointment is a through evaluation. An assessment. At the time, it seems like I'm asking questions that don't have anything to do with addiction. But in the end, it's pretty clear that when you have an addiction it touches every part of your life. I spent a good hour or so evaluating myself. Not only did I come up with an assessment to get me started here, but I gained a new appreciation for my clients and how hard it is to reveal yourself in this way. Tomorrow I'll post my first treatment plan.



I am a 37-year-old woman living in rural Nevada. I am five foot nine and weigh 335 pounds.

Three years ago I had a full physical checkup. My cholesterol is 125, but the percentage of good vs. bad is a little out of balance toward the bad. At that time my thyroid tested in the healthy range. My blood pressure and sugar were good. I had my blood pressure tested again recently and it’s still good.

I have fairly severe back and leg pain at least once a week. It’s worse if I stand for a long time (for instance, Kevin and I went out of town last week and went Christmas shopping. I was nearly immobile that night and felt physically ill from the pain down the backs of my legs and in my lower back.)

I have IBS that is mainly triggered by stress, dairy, and foods very high in fat (such as deep fried.) At least once a week I have fairly severe stomach pain and either constipation or diarrhea (I know, I know…TMI…sorry.)

I get tired easily. I started a new job at the end of October that, while not particularly physically demanding, has a very high learning curve and is mentally and emotionally demanding. During the week, I often just work and then go to sleep within two hours of getting home. By the end of the week, I’m pretty drained and have little energy for doing more than hanging out at home.

Even before I started my new job, I barely had the energy to get through the day.

I am slightly anemic and rarely remember to take an iron supplement.

I was an athlete from childhood until I graduated from high school. Today, I almost never exercise. I find it painful and embarrassing and very uncomfortable. I miss being an athlete.


I don’t have any pending legal problems.

Mental Health

I don’t have any diagnosed mental health issues.

I do have some unresolved issues from my childhood that sometimes contribute to my overeating. (I may nor may not be going into these in the future on this blog. For now, its enough to know that I recognize the problem and will be dealing with it during the next year.)

I am the type to get excited about a new idea, but lose interest when there aren’t fast results. I’ll need to make sure that I remind myself that slow and steady is the only way to meet this goal.

Social and Family

I have been married twice and am currently married to my second husband. I have a good relationship with my ex-husband whom I’ve known since childhood. He is the father of my two older children. I have a solid relationship with my current husband. He’s the father of my youngest child.

I have three children. Adrienne is 16, Nick is 14, and Ruby is 3. Nick has autism, which causes a good bit of stress, although less now than when he was younger.

I have one very close friend. She lives in Las Vegas and I speak to her at least once per month and see her when I go to Las Vegas to visit.

I have many acquaintances, but have a difficult time letting people get close to me. I have never made friends easily, even though I normally get along well with everyone.

I don’t have any significant problems getting along with anyone in my immediate family or with any friends or acquaintances.

I have eight siblings and my dad as well. I have a pleasant but rather distant relationship with all of them. Most live in Las Vegas. One sister lives in Idaho and one brother lives in Hawaii. I have not talked to my step-sister in two years, and rarely talk to her mother who was married to my dad since I was a little girl (they divorced when I was an adult.)

My mother died of breast cancer when I was 24.

Several of my siblings and my father are alcoholics. One of my brothers is a heroin addict and struggling to get and stay clean. I am the only one in my family who doesn’t drink or do drugs. My step-mother was an alcoholic as well.

Substance Abuse

I do not drink at all.

I do not use illegal drugs, or abuse prescription drugs.

I don’t smoke.

My eating habits mimic the behaviors of a person with an addiction.


Post a Comment

<< Home